Mar 20
Stiefel Theatre
Salina, KS

Mar 22
ANTHEM at Hard Rock Casino
Sioux City, IA

Mar 24
Mill City Nights
Minneapolis, MN

Mar 25
House of Blues
Chicago, IL

Mar 26
The Fillmore Detroit
Detroit, MI

Mar 28
Taft Theatre
Cincinnati, OH

Mar 29
Hard Rock Live
Northfield, OH

Mar 31
Casino Rama
Rama, Canada

Apr 03
New London, CT

Apr 05
Shubert Theater
Boston, MA

Apr 06
The Paramount
Huntington, NY

Apr 08
Electric Factory
Philadelphia, PA

Apr 09
Wellmont Theater
Montclair, NJ

Apr 10
The Fillmore
Silver Spring, MD

Apr 12
Variety Playhouse
Atlanta, GA

Apr 14
House of Blues
Orlando, FL

Apr 15
Mahaffey Theater
Saint Petersburg, FL

Apr 16
The Fillmore Miami
Miami Beach, FL

Jun 11
Sound of Music Festival
Burlington, Canada

Share Button

Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment

Welcome Back!


Share Button
Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment

Share Button
Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment

Share Button
Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment

Tommy Victor: ‘X – No Absolutes’ Album ‘Shows Progress On All Fronts’

PRONG’s new album, “X – No Absolutes”, will be released on February 5, 2016 through SPV/Steamhammer as a digipak (including bonus track+poster), 2LP gatefold version (colored vinyl, CD in paper sleeve) and as a digital download.


“X – No Absolutes” track listing:


01. Ultimate Authority
02. Sense Of Ease
03. Without Words
04. Cut And Dry
05. No Absolutes
06. Do Nothing
07. Belief System
08. Soul Sickness
09. In Spite Of Hindrances
10. Ice Runs Through My Veins
11. Worth Pursuing
12. With Dignity
13. Universal Law (digipak bonus track)


Comments Tommy Victor: “PRONG is excited about the upcoming release of our tenth studio release of new material, ‘X – No Absolutes’. It seems as though our recent records keep getting better and this new recording definitely appears to be a testament to this.


“PRONG has maintained aggression while tackling the challenge of creating classic songs and anthems in the past, but we have gone even a step further with this mentality on ‘No Absolutes’. Here you will find a collection of riff-intensified crushers, furious barn burners, and fist pumping sing-a-longs. Also, this record exhibits even more technical proficiency, showing progress again on all fronts. We feel the listener needs to be excited about every lyric, performance, sound, etc. for the duration of the record. This record throws a powerful punch, yet we feel it to be memorable and in demand of future listens with its energy, strong production and overall catchiness.


“Our themes on this record will certainly inspire some thought. Whether it be a dose of self discovery, a dialogue of a personal challenge or a viscous finger pointing at what we believe to be a falsehood, those attentive to messages and lyrics in general will be supplied. And we feel they will be compelled to shout aloud with, mimic a riff, sing along or cry out in pain with ‘X – No Absolutes’!”


After a self-prescribed hiatus, 2012 saw PRONG blow the hinges off the door with the release of “Carved Into Stone”. Seemingly out of nowhere, Tommy Victor and company managed to combine all the previous elements of the band’s formula: thrash, hardcore, industrial metal, etc. with a new urgency and angst that struck a deep nerve with the band’s loyal fan-base and beyond.


The band marched onwards with 2014’s highly acclaimed “Ruining Lives”, which spawned a number of instant classics. “Turnover”, “The Barriers” and the title track became staples in their live set when embarking on a bone-breaking schedule of concerts around the world in support of the record. A video for “Remove, Separate Self” was released creating even more interest in this significant recording.


Recorded over the summer of 2014 and released in early 2015, PRONG’s covers album “Songs From The Black Hole” was loved by fans and critics alike. Always game to make the unexpected move, the album featured songs from artists as diverse as HÜSKER DÜ, BAD BRAINS, BLACK FLAG, THE SISTERS OF MERCY and Neil Young.


After yet another headline tour, it was straight back to the studio for another studio album. Just days after mixing was completed, PRONG went on the road with DANZIG and SUPERJOINT in North America and released the first single “Ultimate Authority” on the day the tour began.


“X – No Absolutes” is PRONG at their very best. The sheer intensity and ferocity of the albums opening triumvirate “Ultimate Authority”, “Sense Of Ease” and “Without Words” leaves the listener gasping for air. The title track is crunchy and catchy at the same time. “Do Nothing” may be as close as you will ever hear PRONG get to a ballad and shows the enormous progress and confidence Victor has made vocally. It is hard to find a weak spot here, notably Victor mentions that “sequencing the album was a difficult task; every song is so strong in its own way.”


Again produced by Tommy Victor, this time with trusted collaborator Chris Collier as co-producer and engineer, “X – No Absolutes” also broadens the horizon sonically.


With over 55 headline shows already announced for right after the album release, PRONG can seem to do everything but stand still.

Share Button
Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment

The End of an Era: Owner of Shake Rattle and Read To Retire, Close Store in 2016


CHICAGO – After 50 years in Uptown, Shake Rattle and Read will close next year, according to longtime owner Ric Addy.


“It’s time,” said Addy. “At age 64, and after 30 years in the same location, I’m looking for new adventures. I need to take time to go see the rest of the world and be with my family and friends in Michigan and Florida. I’ll miss all of my friends in Chicago, but I won’t miss the winters.”


In the 1980s, Addy took over the shop, which sits next to Uptown Theater at 4812 N. Broadway, from his brother who had called the store The Book Box when it opened in 1966. Addy renamed the store and began selling “everything from literary classics to vintage pulp novels, collectible LPs to now-vintage cassettes, to magazines and music memorabilia.”

Next year, he’ll be offering a series of deals leading up to his retirement and departure from Chicago planned for late summer. Paying homage to his yearly routine of offering discounted items according to how many years the store has been open, the sale will kick off with a 50 percent discount of all books, used records and magazines. New Vinyl LPs will be 25 percent off, according to a press release.

Addy has managed music stores such as Rose Records, Downtown Records and Record Exchange since 1971. He’s also one of the city’s first punk rock DJs, according to the press release.


“Just being an independent businessman and not working for anybody else, has been wonderful,” Addy said. “And it’s been terrific to turn on so many people to so many great books and music — these are just the things that a small store always should do.”

Share Button
Posted in Blog Headlines | Leave a comment